R - Search Engine Optimization
Glossary...
R - Search Engine Optimization Glossary for SEO terms that begin with the letter ' R '
including definitions.
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ROAS: Return On Advertising Spending, which is the resulting profit from ad campaign
conversions (derived revenue) against each dollar of advertising costs (expense) its calculation made through the
division of the advertising-driven profits by the ad spending. The ROAS metric will show the amount of gross
revenue that is realized for each dollar spent. Conversion rates for CPC are also a factor to be considered as a
higher conversion rate may result in a lower ROAS compared to a campaign (with the same CTR) with a lower CPC and
higher ROAS but the revenue and profit returns may be higher for the more expensive CPC with a higher conversion
rate/lower ROAS.
ROI: Return On Investment, where the amount made on ads is compared with the amount spent on
ads. Spend $100, for example, on PPC ads that make (have a return) $150 from them, then the ROI is 50%. (Calculate:
($150 return - $100 spend) / 100 = $50 / 100 = 50%.) Therefore, the higher the ROI figure, the more successful the
advertising, though some practitioners believe that ROAS is the more useful metric, due to the break down of cost
and expenditure by the conversions per advertising dollar spend. Using the ROAS examples above the ROIs would be
57.5% and 68.7% respectively.
RSS: Real Simple Syndication or Rich Site Summary. RSS is a collective of web feed formats
(subscribed to) utilising XML for content delivery, syndicating news or other web content as well as blogs,
podcasts etc, and regarded by many as a form of personal wire service in its behavior and ability to publish in
standardized formats.
Rank: The position at which a particular web site or web page appears in any search engine
results. If ranked position #1, its the first listed (top) paid or sponsored ad, whereas position #18 would be
likely to appear further along on second or perhaps third pages of search results, behind 17 other organic listings
and competitor paid ads. Rank and position have an effect on CTR and, ultimately, on the landing page conversion
rates.
Raw Data Feed: Information as raw data collected but not yet formatted, processed or analyzed.
This raw data then can be used in creating an optimized feed via XML, CSV etc.
Reciprocal Link: Two individual sites (often with the same owner) that link out each to the
other effectively making a pairing, in the expectation that visitors will avail of the reciprocation and thus
increase serves. However, unless the link is organic or naturally occurring, spiders and crawlers in search engines
will pick it up and you will be penalized. Reciprocal links are similar to Cross Linking, which links in branches
rather a pair.
Relative URL’s Link: There are two types of paths in HTML, known as relative paths and absolute
paths. An absolute path contains the full URL of the item being referenced. A relative path contains directions to
the item relative to the HTML page. Relative URLs make a link to the file only, eg, “page1.htm”.
Relevance: Regarding PPC advertising, the relevance is the measure of the proximity of your ad
title, keywords and description to a search query and a searcher’s expectations.
Reverse DNS: Reverse Domain Name System. A network process for determining a host or hostname
associated with a host address or an IP, which is reversed only for sorting purposes.
Revshare / Revenue Sharing: Similar to site finder’s fees in the per-click revenue allocation
to site publishers, and the CTCs to search engines distributing paid-ads to context network partners, on each click
recorded on sponsored ads at the content site.
Rich Media: Media beyond text, embedded with motion or interactivity that is becoming
increasingly popular with PPC advertisers as the rate of broadband connectivity speeds up and increasing numbers of
users subscribe to.
Right Rail: The popular name of the column situated to the right on a web page. Right rail is
where sponsored listings usually appear on a SERP.
Robots.txt: Located in a text file of the root directory in a website used for directing search
engine crawler activity and typically used to inform crawlers which portions of a site require their attention and
which should be ignored.
RSS Aggregators: Also RSS Readers. Subscriber software that ‘reads’ RSS so that the data
contained in web feeds can be retrieved and converted into a format suitable for the user.
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